Boredom as exercise

I’ve been getting that itchy, how long do we have to stay at Great Aunt Allergen’s house, feeling lately. You know, where you feel like your brain is screaming at you to peel your carcass off of whatever surface you’ve chosen to adhere to and do somethingANYTHING! But something definitively different than what you’ve been doing for the past few weeks. That’s how this time of year always makes me feel. And that’s why I never bother with resolutions.

If there’s one thing I’m exceptionally good at, it’s manufacturing and burdening myself with ridiculous guilt. Deep down inside, I know I’m not to blame for anything holocausty, slavery-ish or something of a people-feasting nature. That being said, it doesn’t take much for me to immediately want to apologize for being alive any time I watch some atrocity on the news or history channel. That’s exactly why I don’t need resolutions or lifestones (life milestones) to add that heavy lard frosting to my irrational guilt-cake. I’m not casting aspersions on people who function well with self-inflicted, easily modified and later rationalized goals, I’m simply saying I’ve got enough emotional flail marks on me that I don’t need documentation to support it. However, there are a few things I would like to do/encounter in the coming 12-24 months.

Tiger Beach – a stretch of fairly shallow water in the Bahamas where dive crews take you to dive with (if the name wasn’t clear enough) tigers…the underwater, razor-toothed kind. As part of my who is this guy and why should I care what he’s doing with his life campaign, I want to do my part to show that sharks are not the mindless toothy torpedoes that Hollywood (and some newer authors who haven’t figured out that the whole demon shark thing is rather played out) is striving to convince you to empty your pockets for. I figure enough people know that sandtiger sharks are fairly harmless, so it behooves me to visually document the sharks most feared by land-based bipeds. Since all of the tours I’ve looked at state that they have a 100% limb-retention record, I figure I’m as safe as any other oddly shaped non-fish around these predators.

South Africa and Great White shark diving – actually fairly self explanatory. Except for the fact that I want to take the tour where “you go in the cage; cage goes in the water; shark’s in the water…OUR shark“, then you have the option to join the guide outside the cage to truly dive with these beautiful near-dinosaurs. I’ll be surprised if Achebeyo even joins me on the boat that will take me on this adventure, but I can hope. No sense in living if it’s always 100% safe.

Travel, travel, travel – again, pretty self explanatory. I find that my story telling abilities shine the brightest when I’m completely out of my element and experiencing new worlds, willingly or less than. Having time off from work to be a potted slack-plant is fine and all, but at some point you have to scrape off the sweat pants and snack-dusted t-shirts and get back to what makes life truly worth re-living: seeing the world…or seeing places you’ve already been because you only have a few days and St. Thomas & Costa Rica are close and fairly affordable as 3-4 day weekends. Anything to put a few spikes in the flatline of the workaday world.

Write and film a project with some of the very talented people in this region – take what you will from that statement.

Reviewing what’s happened relatively recently based on a numbered day/year makes sense if you’re looking for change, or see a limited window to convince yourself that improvements are necessary or required. Me? I’m pretty happy with who I am and what I’ve done. If you know anything about me, that last statement is change enough.

Explore posts in the same categories: Me, Travel

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Boredom as exercise”

  1. Meg Says:

    I dont do resolutions either – mostly becoz just the thought of them makes me feel like I have a rope around my ankle. 🙂

  2. Dad Says:

    I’m glad you explained “lifestones”, ’cause I had a totally different read on that.


Leave a Reply

